BCPS in the News

BCPS Celebrates the 18th Annual Kids of Character and Staff of Character Awards Ceremony

Friday, May 04, 2018

Broward County Public Schools (BCPS) celebrates the 18th Annual Kids of Character and Staff of Character Awards! A special recognition ceremony takes place on Monday, May 7, 2018, at 7 p.m. at the Broward Center for the Performing Arts. The event, which is sponsored by the Sun-Sentinel and Publix, celebrates students and staff who were nominated by their schools for demonstrating outstanding character throughout the year, including cooperation, responsibility, citizenship, kindness, respect, honesty, self-control and tolerance.

Media are invited to cover this event. Congratulations to the following honorees:

School   Kids of Character

Apollo Middle School


Jillian Brown

Bair Middle School


Kelvin Williams

Beachside Montessori Village


Dylan Bober

Ben Gamla Charter School


Talia Rosenthal

Central Park Elementary School


Noah Gottlieb

Chapel Trail Elementary School


Miley Morales

College Academy at Broward College


Maryam Ware

Colbert Elementary School


Phoenix Knowles

Cooper City High School


Michael Diliello

Coral Glades High School

Brandon Boykins

Coral Springs PreK-8
Shaila Osborn

Coral Springs High School
Alexa Gonzalez

Croissant Park Elementary School
Ana Mendoza

Cypress Elementary School
Maliha Hossain

Dania Elementary School
Gianna Madtes

Deerfield Beach Elementary School
Tyler Gault

Discovery Elementary School
Abigail Forsyth

Driftwood Elementary School
Dunia Castro

Driftwood Middle School
Yaire Castro

Eagle Point Elementary School

Maria Sofia DeAbreu

Flamingo Elementary School

Hailey Anderson

Griffin Elementary School
Alix Genson

  Imagine Charter of Weston
Sebastian Gutierre
Indian Ridge Middle School
  Susan Rossano

Indian Trace Elementary School


Samuel De Mendonea

Lakeside Elementary School

Michelle Tur Vogeler

Lauderhill 6 –12 (Middle) School
Angelica Calvin

Lauderhill 6 – 12 (High) School
Edward Pratt

Lyons Creek Middle School
Jacob Busekrus

Millennium 6-12 Collegiate Academy
Ella Adeline

Mirror Lakes Elementary School
Kayla Marie Brezenski

Morrow Elementary School
Kaliana Watson

New Renaissance Middle School
Sherly A. Gonzalez

Nova High School
Carter Goldman

Oakland Park Elementary School
Monica Moya

Park Springs Elementary School
Gale Guest

Park Springs Elementary School
Cooper Frengut

Pompano Beach Middle School
Deontae Shuler

Ramblewood Middle School
Corbin Diaz

Silver Lakes Middle School
Adah Nelson

South Plantation High School
Angelique Culver

Stephen Foster Elementary School
Genevieve Gall

Sunset Lakes Elementary School
Isabel Reyes

Sunshine Elementary School
Angelina Muguercia

Tedder Elementary School
Christian Martinez

Tradewinds Elementary School

Kaitlyn Bernstein

Walker Elementary School
Jamira Dill

Walter C. Young Middle School

Julio Arboleda

Westwood Heights Elementary School
Gabriella Casco

Wilton Manors Elementary School
Caitlin Underwood





Staff of Character

Annabel C. Perry PreK–8


Mae H. Young

Apollo Middle School


Sandra M. Brown

Attucks Middle School


Cecil McNair

Bayview Elementary School


Mimoza Minxha

Challenger Elementary School


Barbara H. Eisenberg

Chapel Trail Elementary School


Geraldine Casanova

City of Pembroke Pines Charter – Academic Village


Jennilee Abolafia

Cooper City High School


Clara Neeck

Crystal Lake Middle School


Sherise Dawkins

Cypress Bay High School


Sargent Major Jorge Cruz


Cypress Elementary School


Janette Delgado


Dania Elementary School


Claudia Fortoul Lander


Fox Trail Elementary School


Jackie Alberico


Imagine Charter of Weston


Gina Asada


Margate Middle School


Elizabeth Joseph


New River Middle School


Kimberly Youngblood


Oakland Park Elementary School


Kim Murney


Park Springs Elementary School


Victoria Greene


Piper High School


Jon Farley


Plantation Park Elementary School


Jessica Thomas


For more information, contact Kimberly Young-Oliveras, Character Education, Diversity, Prevention & Intervention, at 754-321-1644.



“Committed to educating all students to reach their highest potential.” Broward County Public Schools (BCPS) is the sixth largest school district in the nation and the second largest in the state of Florida. BCPS is Florida’s first fully accredited school system since 1962. BCPS has over 271,500 students and approximately 175,000 adult students in 234 schools, centers and technical colleges, and 93 charter schools. BCPS serves a diverse student population, with students representing 204 different countries and 191 different languages. To learn more, visit browardschools.com. Follow BCPS on Twitter @browardschools and Facebook at facebook.com/browardschools, and download the free BCPS mobile app.