Exceptional Student Education

  • Support Facilitation

    Assisting Students in the Mainstream via a Support Facilitation Model

    cowboy logo

    The ESE Support Facilitator’s role is to assist students by keeping up an open line of communication with the students, parents, and  teachers. This is done through communicating  with teachers in person, through classroom visits, via emails, etc. Support is provided by ensuring teachers are aware of and understand the accommodations needed by students in order to access the curriculum which they are accountable for, being available to teachers if they want to discuss students and/or lessons and by collaborating with teachers to best meet needs of students.  Students are assisted in their mainstream classes through both internal and external support. Additionally, teachers and students can set up small group or one on one assistance when needed for extra help or for extra time.

    Exceptional Student Learning Support District Web Site


    Cooper Crafts is a microenterprise created and operated by City High School's ESE PASS students. Students help design and handcraft decorative garlands, banners, confetti, and gift tags.


     Below is a list of our ESE staff for the 2018-2019 school year.

    Nicole Hicks
    Support Facilitator/Department Head
    nicole.hicks@browardschools.com

    Michele Kitman
    ESE Specialist
    michele.kitman@browardschools.com

    Dr. Claudia Jones
    Support Facilitator
    claudia.jones@browardschools.com

    Heidi Dermer
    Support Facilitator
    heidi.dermer@browardschools.com

    Nicole Garcia
    PASS teacher
    nicole.garcia@browardschools.com

    Tonia Castellanos
    Speech Therapist 
    tonia.castellanos@browardschools.com

    Jorge Souza
    Support Facilitator 
    jorge.souza@browardschools.com

    Anita Gilland
    SVE teacher
    anita.d.gilland@browardschools.com

    Raquel Moon
    SVE teacher
    raquel.moon@browardschools.com

    Assan Rose
    Job Coach
    assan.rose@browardschools.com

     

    Parent information can be found under our resources tab.