

# College Academy at Broward College SAC Minutes September 26, 2023

Location: CA@BC Central Campus Bldg. 5/115 beginning at 4:00 PM.

# **School Advisory Council Meeting**

#### I. Welcome and Introductions

The meeting was called to order by Priyasha Jadoo at 4:08 pm. All attendees were introduced and welcomed to the first SAC meeting of the school year.

# II. Outcomes, Agenda, Roles, Ground Rules

Ms. Jadoo discussed the bylaws, purpose of SAC, membership, voting nominations, and Robert's Rules of Order.

#### III. Principal's Message

Principal Haygood welcomed everyone to the SAC meeting. The College Academy is the number one high school in Broward County according to Niche, an American company by which schools are ranked and reviewed. Our Juniors participated in our summer PSAT Camp. The actual test will be in administered in October and will be digital. We have four semi-finalists and seven commended National Merit students. Students are encouraged to stack their scholarships with both large and small dollar amounts. Our goal is that all College Academy students receive scholarships.

Principal Haygood shared two concerns: Student Dress Code and Student Attendance. Our professors govern student attendance in the class syllabus. Student's requesting one to two weeks off is concerning. Parents are encouraged to ensure students are in class. As a Broward County Public School, we abide by the District's dress code policy. Our students are often before leadership and must be dressed appropriately.

## **IV. Safety and Security Compliance**

No discussion

# V. SAF/SAC Report

Ms. Jadoo discussed the requirement for SAC Officers and a School Advisory Forum representative.

The following officers and School Advisory Forum Representative were nominated:

Priyasha Jadoo, Chairperson nominated by Veronica Whitsett Veronica Whitsett, Secretary nominated by Priyasha Jadoo Omar Badoolah, SAF Representative self-nominated Jalane Meloun, I-Zone Representative self-nominated

There was no opposition to the nominations.

The following students and parents were self-nominated as voting members:

Marina Carmo Javier Dominguez Florencia Apraiz, parent
Devrim Yalcindag Brant Meloun Petre-Ann Williams, parent
Wilson Diaz Sanchez Vivette Bewry Dickenson

There was no opposition to the nominations.

The SAC Accountability funds have not be released by the district yet. However, the prior balance was \$2,175.05.

### VI. Sub-Committees Report/Plans

Michel – IEP meetings are being held with students and parents.

Desrosiers – Math department will be sponsoring students in the Math Competition and Aerospace Space club.

Weinstein – Guidance is meeting with students, assisting with college applications. FAFSA opening has been delayed until December. Seniors will be given their eligibility report by College Academy. There is a new Classic Learning Test for college eligibility. Universities are currently determining the process for the CLT. Many universities are requesting visits at College Academy: UF, Brown, John Hopkins, and others. We have twenty students applying to Questbridge. The submissions are due today. We also have seventeen POSSE semi-finalists. Results are normally received in December.

Juniors are registering for Spring classes tomorrow. Every Junior is registered for the PSAT. The \$20 testing fee is being covered by College Academy. Thank you to Principal Haygood for making this possible. The test is digital this year and will be administered in computer labs on both campuses. The reading passages are shorter, and it is a progress/adaptive test. SAT will be going digital as well.

Aiken – Social Sciences department is working with Guidance to keep seniors on track through mentoring and guidance. On October 12, 2023, we will be hosting Alumni Night.

Ms. Meloun shared that the Broward Public Library on Stirling Road is providing free resources to students.

The SAC meeting was adjourned by Priyasha Jadoo at 4:54 pm.

ProposalMotionActionAdjourn SAC MeetingDervim Yalcindag, Seconded Dr. Jason AikenAll in Favor

Respectfully submitted,

Veronica Whitsett
Secretary

Priyasha Jadoo Chairperson