









Legislative Affairs Department Broward County Public Schools 2025 Florida Legislature Update December 3, 2024

OVERVIEW

Florida Senate and House lawmakers held organizational sessions on November 19, 2024 where they approved Senate and House rules, as well as elected leadership.

2025 FLORIDA SENATE LEADERSHIP



Senator Ben Albritton (R) President District 27, Term Limits Out in 2028 City of Residence: Wauchula



Senator Jim Boyd (R) Majority Leader District 20, Term Limits Out in 2030 City of Residence: Bradenton



Senator Jason Brodeur (R) President Pro Tempore District 10, Term Limits Out in 2030 City of Residence: Sanford



Senator Jason W. B. Pizzo (D) Minority Leader District 37, Term Limits Out in 2028 City of Residence: Sunny Isles Beach



Senator Tracie Davis (D) Minority Leader Pro Tempore District 5, Term Limits Out in 2032 City of Residence: Jacksonville

2025 FLORIDA HOUSE LEADERSHIP



Representative Daniel Perez (R) Speaker District 116, Term Limits Out in 2026 City of Residence: Miami



Representative Tyler I. Sirois (R) Majority Leader District 31, Term Limits Out in 2026 City of Residence: Merritt Island



Representative Adam Botana (R) Majority Whip District 80, Term Limits Out in 2028 City of Residence: Bonita Springs



Representative Wyman Duggan (R) Speaker Pro Tempore District 12, Term Limits Out in 2026 City of Residence: Jacksonville



Representative John Snyder (R) Deputy Majority Leader District 86, Term Limits Out in 2028 City of Residence: Stuart



Representative Fentrice Driskell (D) Minority Leader District 67, Term Limits Out in 2026 City of Residence: Tampa



Representative Dotie Joseph (D) Minority Leader Pro Tempore District 108, Term Limits Out in 2026 City of Residence: North Miami



Representative Christine Hunschofsky (D) Minority Whip District 95, Term Limits Out in 2028 City of Residence: Parkland



Representative Kelly Skidmore (D) Minority Policy Chair District 92, Term Limits Out in 2028 City of Residence: Boca Raton

2025 BROWARD LEGISLATIVE DELEGATION

The Broward Legislative Delegation held its organizational on meeting November 12, 2024 where they elected Representative Marie Paule Woodson as Chair, and Senator Dr. Rosalind Osgood as Vice Chair. Please see below list of the 2025 delegation members.



Representative Marie Paule Woodson (D) Broward Legislative Delegation Chair District 105, Term Limits Out in 2028 <u>Committee Assignments:</u> To be announced



Senator Dr. Rosalind Osgood (D) Broward Legislative Delegation Vice Chair District 32, Term Limits Out in 2030 <u>Committee Assignments:</u> Fiscal Policy (Vice Chair)



Senator Jason W. B. Pizzo (D) Minority Leader District 37, Term Limits Out in 2028 <u>Committee Assignments:</u> Regulated Industries (Vice Chair)



Senator Tina Scott Polsky (D) District 30, Term Limits Out in 2030 <u>Committee Assignments:</u> Appropriations Committee on Transportation, Tourism, and Economic Development (Vice Chair)



Representative Christine Hunschofsky (D)

Minority Whip District 95, Term Limits Out in 2028 <u>Committee Assignments:</u> To be announced



Senator Barbara Sharief (D) District 35, Term Limits Out in 2032 <u>Committee Assignments:</u> Banking and Insurance (Vice Chair)



Representative Dan Daley (D) District 96, Term Limits Out in 2028 <u>Committee Assignments:</u> To be announced



Representative Mitch Rosenwald (D) District 98, Term Limits Out in 2032 <u>Committee Assignments:</u> To be announced



Representative Lisa Dunkley (D) District 97, Term Limits Out in 2030 <u>Committee Assignments:</u> To be announced



Representative Daryl Campbell (D) District 99, Term Limits Out in 2030 <u>Committee Assignments:</u> To be announced



Representative Chip LaMarca (R) District 100, Term Limits Out in 2026 <u>Committee Assignments:</u> To be announced



Representative Michael "Mike" Gottlieb (D) District 102, Term Limits Out in 2026 <u>Committee Assignments:</u> To be announced



Representative Hillary Cassel (D) District 101, Term Limits Out in 2030 <u>Committee Assignments:</u> To be announced



Representative Robin Bartleman (D) District 103, Term Limits Out in 2028 <u>Committee Assignments:</u> To be announced



Representative Felicia Simone Robinson (D) District 104, Term Limits Out in 2028 <u>Committee Assignments:</u> To be announced

2025 SESSION SENATE COMMITTEES RELATIVE TO BCPS

APPROPRIATIONS

<u>Chair:</u> Senator Ed Hooper (R), District 21 City of Residence: Clearwater <u>Vice Chair:</u> Senator Darryl Ervin Rouson (D), District 16 City of Residence: St. Petersburg <u>Members:</u> To be announced

EDUCATION PRE-K - 12

<u>Chair:</u> Senator Corey Simon (R), District 3 City of Residence: Tallahassee <u>Vice Chair:</u> Senator Alexis Calatayud (R), District 38 City of Residence: Miami <u>Members:</u> To be announced

APPROPRIATIONS COMMITTEE ON PRE-K - 12 EDUCATION

<u>Chair:</u> Senator Danny Burgess (R), District 23 City of Residence: Zephyrhills <u>Vice Chair:</u> Senator Geraldine F. "Geri" Thompson (D), District 15 City of Residence: Windermere <u>Members:</u> To be announced

2025 SESSION HOUSE COMMITTEES RELATIVE TO BCPS

BUDGET COMMITTEE

<u>Chair:</u> Rep. Lawrence McClure (R), District 68 City of Residence: Dover <u>Members:</u> To be announced

PREK-12 BUDGET SUBCOMMITTEE Leadership and Members: To be announced EDUCATION & EMPLOYMENT COMMITTEE Chair: Rep. Jennifer Canady (R), District 50 City of Residence: Lakeland <u>Members:</u> To be announced

EDUCATION ADMINISTRATION SUBCOMMITTEE Leadership and Members: To be announced

STUDENT ACADEMIC SUCCESS SUBCOMMITTEE

<u>Leadership and Members:</u> To be announced

2025 SESSION JOINT COMMITTEES RELATIVE TO BCPS

LEGISLATIVE BUDGET COMMISSION

<u>Alternating Chair:</u> Senator Ed Hooper (R), District 21 City of Residence: Clearwater <u>Members:</u> To be announced