Return to Headlines

How to Register My Child for School


How to Register your child for School

So you want to register your child in our school? No problem!

Below is a checklist to help the registration process go as smoothly as possible:

Age Requirements

Child must be 5 years old on or before September 1.

First Grade
Child must be 6 years old on or before September 1, and must have been enrolled in a public school or must have satisfactorily completed kindergarten in a nonpublic school.

Step 1 - First, make sure that we are the correct school. To find out the school(s) assigned to your home address, you can either use our School Locator feature or call the District's Innovative Programs Department at 754-321-2380. You must provide your specific street address and your child's grade level and the office will determine the correct school your child is supposed to attend.

Step 2 - Complete the initial registration form in your language

Documents must be downloaded, filled in and sent by email to:

Code of Conduct Signature Forms
English | Spanish Haitian Creole | Portuguese

 Step 3 - The following documents will be required at the time of registration completion:
you can also download the checklist here


Submit current proofs of residence from the table below, based upon your type of residence

If you OWN or RENT your residence:

Submit one document from both Columns A and B

If you SHARE the housing of another person who owns/rents the home:

Both the registering parent and owner/renter of the residence complete a notarized Affidavit of Shared Residence Form:
English | Spanish | Haitian/Creole | Portuguese; and,

The owner/renter of the residence must submit one document from both Columns A and B; and,

The registering parent must submit two documents from Column B.

If you answer “yes” to certain residency questions on the Student Registration Form you may qualify for the HOMELESS Education Program (HEP) under the McKinney-Vento Act.

The school will provide a referral to the district’s Homeless Education Liaison and, if qualified, the student will be eligible for immediate services.

Students registered under the McKinney-Vento Act must re-enroll each school year.

All documents must be current, valid, and include the residential address used for enrollment.

  • Property tax bill
  • Homestead exemption card
  • Deed
  • Mortgage statement
  • Home purchase contract
  • Notarized lease agreement
  • Utility bill (i.e., electric, water, waste)
  • Telephone or cellular phone bill
  • Verification of Tenancy letter from the homeowners or condominium association
  • Declaration of Domicile Form from the County Records Department
  • Florida drivers license
  • Florida identification card
  • Automobile registration
  • Automobile insurance
  • Credit card statement
  • Two consecutive bank account statements
  • U.S. Postal Service confirmation of address change request











Submit one form of verification of the student’s age in the order set forth below:

Official Birth Certificate

  • A duly attested transcript of the child’s birth record filed according to law with a public officer charged with the duty of recording births.

Certificate of Baptism

  • A duly attested transcript of a certificate of baptism showing the date of birth and place of baptism of the child, accompanied by an affidavit sworn to by the parent.

Insurance Policy

  • An insurance policy on the child’s life, which has been in force for at least two years.

Religious Record

  • A bona fide contemporary religious record of the child’s birth accompanied by an affidavit sworn to by the parent.


  • A passport or certificate of arrival in the U.S. showing the age of the child.
  • NOTE: Under no circumstances shall staff request a passport, visa, or any other documentation to verify the immigration status of any student.


  • A transcript of record of age shown in the child’s school record of at least four years prior to application, stating date of birth.

Sworn Affidavit

  • An affidavit sworn to by the parent, accompanied by a certificate of age signed by a public health officer or by a licensed practicing physician, which states that the health officer or physician has examined the child and believes the age as stated in the affidavit is substantially correct.


Students enrolling in a Florida public school for the first time must submit evidence of a medical examination performed within the twelve months prior to the initial enrollment.


Submit a Florida Certificate of Immunization Form (Form DH 680).

What Your Child Needs For 2020–2021 Immunizations 


  • Submit the most recent report card and/or transcript needed for appropriate grade level placement; or,
  • Complete a Release of Information Form and your school will request the appropriate educational records from all previous educational programs.

English   Spanish   Haitian Creole   Portuguese


  • Schools have the right to verify any information provided by the student and/or the student’s parent(s). 
  • A student whose parent(s) submit fraudulent information in an attempt to attend a school to which the student is not assigned shall be immediately withdrawn by the school and must be registered and enrolled in the appropriate boundaried school.
  • Whoever knowingly makes a false statement in writing with intent to mislead a public servant in the performance of his or her official duty, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable by law (F.S. 837.06) or guilty of perjury by false written declaration, a felony of the third degree (F.S. 92.525).