Return to Headlines

BCPS Celebrates College-sponsored National Merit Scholarship Winners

Broward County Public Schools (BCPS) is pleased to announce that 17 exceptional high school seniors have been named recipients of college-sponsored scholarships through the prestigious 2024 National Merit Scholarship Program.
These scholarships recognize outstanding academic achievement and provide financial support for undergraduate studies at the sponsoring institution. Officials of each sponsor college selected their scholarship winners from among the finalists in the 2024 National Merit Scholarship Program who plan to attend their institution. The awards range from $500 to $2,000 annually for up to four years.
BCPS congratulates the following students on their well-deserved recognition:
College Academy at Broward College
Carlos Arias, University of Florida
Diego Munoz Bodden, University of Central Florida
Anakin Maksylewicz, University of Florida
Cypress Bay High School
Hannah Cho, University of Florida
Pranav Dayal, University of Florida
Riya Desai, Florida Atlantic University
Samuel Palleija, University of Florida
Abhiram Pinnity, University of Florida
Advaith Ravi, University of Florida
Everglades High School
Maya Saleh, University of Florida
Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School
Piper Bourne, Florida State University
Caleb Hebert, University of Florida
Pompano Beach High School
Livia Law, University of Florida
Matthew Millikin, University of Central Florida
South Broward High School
Kiara Bruestle, University of Florida
J.P. Taravella High School
Sarvesh Mishra, University of Central Florida
West Broward High School
Craig Perry, University of Florida
“This is a tremendous honor for these students and a testament to their hard work and academic achievements,” BCPS Superintendent Dr. Howard Hepburn said. “We are incredibly proud of them and wish them all the best in their future endeavors.”
This year, 149 higher education institutions are underwriting Merit Scholarship awards through the National Merit Scholarship Program. Sponsor colleges and universities include 77 private and 72 public institutions located in 42 states and the District of Columbia.   
An additional group of scholars will be announced in July, bringing the total number of college-sponsored Merit Scholarship recipients in the 2024 competition to more than 3,600.
“Educating all students to reach their highest potential.” 
Broward County Public Schools (BCPS) is the sixth-largest school district in the nation and the second largest in the state of Florida. BCPS is Florida’s first fully accredited school system since 1962, serving more than 251,000 students and approximately 110,000 adult learners in 239 schools, centers and technical colleges, and 87 charter schools. BCPS supports a diverse student population representing 177 different countries and speaking 153 languages. To connect with BCPS, visit, follow us on Twitter @browardschools, on Facebook at, on Instagram @browardschoolsofficial, on YouTube at and download the free BCPS mobile app at