Return to Headlines

BCPS Celebrates Kids and Staff of Character During Awards Ceremony on Wednesday, May 15

BCPS Celebrates Kids and Staff of Character!
Annual Awards Ceremony is Wednesday, May 15, at the Broward Center for the Performing Arts

Broward County Public Schools (BCPS) proudly presents the 24th Annual Kids and Staff of Character BCPS-Character Core of our lives Awards on Wednesday, May 15, at the Broward Center for the Performing Arts, Amaturo Theater.  The ceremony begins at 7 p.m. Media are invited to cover this event.
The awards ceremony honors 50 students and 20 BCPS staff members for being outstanding examples of the eight District-adopted core character traits:  cooperation, responsibility, citizenship, kindness, respect, honesty, self-control and tolerance. The annual event is organized by the BCPS Mental Health Services Department.

The District’s core character traits help promote positive behaviors and support a safe and respectful learning environment for students. The eight traits are infused into the school environment through class curriculum and school-related activities.

Schools across the District nominated students and staff who embody and exemplify the core traits throughout the year.


Kids of Character

Atlantic Technical College and High School

Thanh (Lily) Tran

Bennett Elementary School

Kamila Cruz Galindo

Blanche Ely High School

Re’Shad Higgins

Broadview Elementary School

Sariyah Craig

Central Park Elementary School

Julian Mijangos

Challenger Elementary School

Asher Martin

Chapel Trail Elementary School

Marc Raphael Jr

Colbert Elementary School

Ashton Irving

Cooper City Elementary School

Samantha Spigelman

Country Hills Elementary School

Leonel Vega

Deerfield Beach Elementary School

Sophia Garcia

Deerfield Beach High School

Sachi Soubra

Everglades High School

Cathy Marchan-Capitanio

Falcon Cove Middle School

Mansha Pardasani

Flamingo Elementary School

Mason Chunowitz

Floranada Elementary School

Siobhan Noone

Gulfstream Early Learning Center

Valyncia McKay

Heron Height Elementary School

Oscar Amador

Hollywood Hills High School

Ricknelys Ramos Lopez

James S. Hunt Elementary School

Derilin Fuller

Indian Trace Elementary School

Aryana Sekercioglu

Lauderhill 6-12

Ethan McFarlane

Margate Middle School

Shaneka Luders

Thurgood Marshall Elementary School

Juan Monroy Martinez

McFatter Technical College and High School

Aseel Ismail

McNab Elementary School

Ellie Allison

New River Middle School

Kyle LaFrance

Nob Hill Elementary School

Maria Bolivar

Nova Blanche Forman Elementary School

Olivia Smith

Orange Brook Elementary School

Skylar Cijuste

Park Springs Elementary School

Haley Goldie

Parkside Elementary School

Brooklyn DeFroscia

Pasadena Lakes Elementary School

Isabella Mir

Pembroke Pines Charter Elementary East

Michael Chancy

Pines Lakes Elementary School

Andia Reid

Plantation High School

Kady Perez

Plantation Park Elementary School

Paola Valencia

Riverside Elementary School

Emma Stetler

Sandpiper Elementary School

Tomike Jagne

Sawgrass Springs Middle School

Fayola Jean Francois

Sea Castle Elementary School

Mason Johnson

Seminole Middle School

Macy Sznitken

Sheridan Park Elementary School

Emma Sweetland

Silver Trail Middle School

Solace Previl

Somerset Riverside Academy

Nylah Warren

South Broward High School

Aspen Roberts

Sunset Lakes Elementary School

Miracle Rojas

Tradewinds Elementary School

Lays Vitorino

Westwood Heights Elementary School

Shanice Bethel

Whiddon-Rogers Education Center

Luisa Moreno



Staff of Character

Avant Garde Academy

Carmen Baiz

Chapel Trail Elementary School

Maria Rosenthal

Coral Springs Charter

Ryan Pinney

Crystal Lake Middle School

Elisabeth Joseph

Dolphin Bay Elementary School

Chigozie Enukora

Floranada Elementary School

Mary Corll

Hollywood Hills High School

Lisa Cook

James S. Hunt Elementary School

Margarita Guzman

McFatter Technical College and High School

David Wood

McNicol Middle School

Chandra Lee

Orange Brook Elementary School

Pamela Parish-Smith

Parkway Middle School

Brinta Pharisien

Pembroke Lakes Elementary School

Lily Suarez

Plantation Middle School

Aaronette Gresham

Sandpiper Elementary School

Heather Emery

Silver Lakes Middle School

Peter Tulloch

Silver Ridge Elementary School

Erica Doyle

Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School

Yosleny Valera

Sunrise Middle School

McKinson Souverain

Winston Park Elementary School

Pamela Lustig



“Educating all students to reach their highest potential.”
Broward County Public Schools (BCPS) is the sixth-largest school district in the nation and the second largest in the state of Florida. BCPS is Florida’s first fully accredited school system since 1962, serving more than 251,000 students and approximately 110,000 adult learners in 239 schools, centers and technical colleges, and 87 charter schools. BCPS supports a diverse student population representing 177 different countries and speaking 153 languages. To connect with BCPS, visit, follow us on Twitter @browardschools, on Facebook at, on Instagram @browardschoolsofficial, on YouTube at and download the free BCPS mobile app at