Return to Headlines

Swearing-in Ceremony for Newly Elected and Re-elected Broward County School Board Members

Swearing-in Ceremony for Newly Elected and Re-elected 
Broward County School Board Members 


Broward County School Board Members, Broward County Public Schools Superintendent,
District Leadership and Staff  

Swearing-in Ceremony for newly elected and re-elected School Board members 

Tuesday, November 22, 2022
Doors open at 8 a.m. – Ceremony begins at 8:30 a.m. 
(Attendees should allow time for safety and security protocols, which will include use of metal detector wands.) 

Fort Lauderdale High School, Auditorium
1600 N.E. 4th Avenue 
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33305 

Swearing-in Ceremony for four newly elected and two re-elected School Board members. Taking the oath of office are Lori Alhadeff, District 4; Brenda Fam, District 6; Jeff Holness, District 5; Nora Rupert, District 7; Rodney “Rod” Velez, District 1; and Allen Zeman, Countywide At-Large, Seat 8. Following the ceremony, School Board members will hold their Organizational Meeting at 11 a.m. at the Kathleen C. Wright Administration Center. 


Media is invited to cover this event.
RSVP by Monday, November 21, at
Media parking is available in the school parking lot on Northeast 16th Street. 



“Educating all students to reach their highest potential.” 
Broward County Public Schools (BCPS) is the sixth largest school district in the nation and the second largest in the state of Florida. BCPS is Florida’s first fully accredited school system since 1962, serving more than 256,000 students and approximately 110,000 adult learners in 240 schools, centers and technical colleges, and 90 charter schools. BCPS supports a diverse student population representing 170 different countries and speaking 147 languages. To connect with BCPS, visit, follow us on Twitter @browardschools, on Facebook at, and download the free BCPS mobile app.