Return to Headlines

Broward County Public Schools Swearing-in Ceremony For Newly Elected School Board Members

November 16, 2020

School Board Members, District Administrators, Community and Family Members

Swearing-in Ceremony for recently elected School Board Members

Tuesday, November 17, 2020
9:30 a.m.

Kathleen C. Wright Administration Center, Boardroom
600 S. E. Third Avenue
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301

Swearing-in Ceremony for two new members – Debra Hixon and Sarah Leonardi – and two returning members – Patricia Good and Dr. Rosalind Osgood – elected to the School Board of Broward County, Florida. In addition, the School Board will hold its annual Organizational Meeting (at 1 p.m.) for nominations and election of Chair and Vice Chair.

MEDIA NOTE: To maintain physical distancing guidelines, media will not be allowed inside the Boardroom for the entirety of the ceremony but may take turns to briefly obtain b-roll. The ceremony will be live streamed at


“Committed to educating all students to reach their highest potential.”
Broward County Public Schools (BCPS) is the sixth largest school district in the nation and the second largest in the state of Florida. BCPS is
Florida’s first fully accredited school system since 1962. BCPS has nearly 261,500 students and approximately 110,000 adult students in 241
schools, centers and technical colleges, and 92 charter schools. BCPS serves a diverse student population, with students representing 170
different countries and 147 different languages. To connect with BCPS, visit, follow us on Twitter @browardschools, on
Facebook at and download the free BCPS mobile app.