Return to Headlines

BCPS Celebrates the 19th Annual Kids of Character and Staff of Character Awards Ceremony on Monday, May 6 at 7 p.m.

May 1, 2019

Broward County Public Schools (BCPS) celebrates the 19th Annual Kids of Character and Staff of Character Awards!  A special recognition ceremony takes place on Monday, May 6, 2019, at 7 p.m. at the Broward Center for the Performing Arts, Amaturo Theater, 201 SW Fifth Avenue, Fort Lauderdale 33312. Media are invited to cover this event. 

The event, which is sponsored by the Sun-Sentinel and Publix, celebrates students and staff who were nominated by their schools for demonstrating outstanding character throughout the year, including cooperation, responsibility, citizenship, kindness, respect, honesty, self-control and tolerance.  Congratulations to the following BCPS honorees:




Kids of Character

Attucks Middle School

Elizabeth Wright

Bair Middle School

Mia Francis

Bennett Elementary School

Lia Lee

Boyd Anderson High School

Gregory Dauphin

Central Park Elementary School

Madelyn Ramirez

Coconut Creek Elementary School

Meadow-Lynn Zaccour

Coconut Palm Elementary School

Mariana Linarez

Colbert Museum Magnet School

K’Leah Lee

Coral Glades High School

Jasmine Cheung

Coral Park Elementary School

Jaylynn Rodriguez

Coral Springs Middle School

Blake Ogden

Croissant Park Elementary School

Jacqueline Segura

Cross Creek School

Tara Thomas

Crystal Lake Middle School

Jade Restrepo

Dania Elementary School

Geovanni Serey

Deerfield Beach High School

Dachnaica Alcius

Discovery Elementary School

Nakada Lewis

Flamingo Elementary School

Renada Toyer

Fort Lauderdale High School

Bianca Cirigliano

Greentree Prep Charter School

Haady Elneser

Griffin Elementary School

Lielle Nahum

Gulfstream Academy School

Milagros Pecho

Hawks Bluff Elementary School

Angelo (AJ) D’Alessandro

Hollywood Park Elementary School

Kellen Mesina

Indian Trace Elementary School

Maximo Capparelli



Kids of Character

Larkdale Elementary School

Noonjekah Joseph

Lauderhill 6 – 12

Jessica Penel

McArthur High School

Gianluca Rosa

McFatter Technical High School

Ashley Melissa Puerta

Monarch High School

Lincoln Le

New Renaissance Middle School

Marylin Urtecho

New River Middle School

Rachel Rubenstein

Northeast High School

Kaitlin Bakley

Oakland Park Elementary School

Daniel Almonte

Pioneer Middle School

Emma Alston

Pompano Beach Middle School

Rihanna Bajnath

Pompano Beach High School

Bailey Campbell

Sheridan Hills Elementary School

Kevin Henriquez

Silver Lakes Middle School

Quacian Dennis

Silver Palms Elementary School

Giovanny Lagarde

Silver Ridge Elementary School

Grace Giol

South Plantation High School

Tyler Benting

Tamarac Elementary School

Benjamin Kopet

Tedder Elementary School

Diane Pierre

Tequesta Trace Middle School

Hannah Wagner

Walter C. Young Middle School

Manuel Jaramillo

Westwood Heights Elementary School

Frederick Jackson

Whispering Pines Center

Nicole Ellett

Winston Park Elementary School

Ayla Kadribasic



Staff of Character

Boyd Anderson High School

Janai Bowens

Colbert Elementary School

Cassandra McClary-Lazo

College Academy @ Broward College

Virginia Engestrom

Coral Glades High School

Olga Coy

Coral Springs High School

R. Brantley Barr

Eagle Point Elementary School

Shelly Auguste

Exceptional Student Learning

George Wazer Kalam

Falcon Cove Middle School

Regina Dempsey

Hollywood Hills High School

Sara Pierce

Hollywood Park Elementary School

Ivan Pereira

McArthur High School

Naima Khan-Ghany

New River Middle School

Cynthia Rosenthal

Renaissance Charter of CS

Kristen Harris

Sawgrass Springs Middle School

Scott Kashdin

Silver Lakes Middle School

Jillian Mostal

Stephen Foster Elementary School

Jeff Allagood

Tamarac Elementary School

Jan Caivano

Westwood Heights Elementary

Jessica Childers

Whispering Pines

Martin Kruse

Winston Park Elementary

Krystal Langley

For more information, contact Kimberly Young-Oliveras, Peer Counseling, Character Education & Prevention at 754-321-1644.





“Committed to educating all students to reach their highest potential.”

Broward County Public Schools (BCPS) is the sixth-largest school district in the nation and the second-largest in the state of Florida. BCPS is Florida’s first fully accredited school system since 1962. BCPS has more than 271,500 students and approximately 175,000 adult students in 234 schools, centers and technical colleges, and 88 charter schools. BCPS serves a diverse student population, with students representing 204 different countries and 191 different languages. Connect with BCPS: visit the website at, follow BCPS on Twitter @browardschools and Facebook at, and download the free BCPS mobile app.