We Care - Know The Rules
The School Board of Broward County, Florida (SBBC) consists of nine elected School Board Members who serve four-year terms. Two of the School Board Members are elected “at large” by all of the electors in Broward County. The other seven School Board Members are elected from seven school board member residence areas. The School Board Members, along with the Superintendent, oversee the sixth-largest District in the nation. The SBBC implements policies that govern ethical, fiduciary, and scholastic mandates, protocols, and procedures for the District's schools, offices, and departments subject to any applicable federal, state, or local laws. The SBBC answers to the residents and taxpayers of Broward County in an ethical, open, and transparent manner.
A school principal may supplement District policies by outlining rules specific to the school such as uniform colors, cell phone usage areas, and drop off/pick up times. However, school rules are limited in scope and do not supersede school district policies.
Anonymous Tip Line
If you need to report something you can do so ANONYMOUSLY! No one will ever be able to know where the report originated. We need you to help keep our schools and our children safe, so if there is something going on that needs to be reported please report it.
The text messaging service, TipSoft, allows a response by text message to the originating cell phone without ever knowing the identity of the individual who left the tip. The user’s information is always given an alias and a unique ID before being sent. This secure application allows the tipster and the investigator to have two-way dialog while always keeping the user’s identity completely anonymous.
The School Board of Broward County encourages students to report information about any non-urgent illegal activity, such as vandalism, theft, the sale, and distribution of drugs or information about crimes that are being planned.
According to SBBC Policy 5.5: All students under 16 are required to attend school every day of the 180-day school year. Absences are established by tardiness, early sign-outs, or absences for all or part of any day. The maximum number of acceptable absences is 5 days.
- Parents have 2 days (48 hours) in which to report an absence.
- The Attendance Policy allows eight (8) reasons for absence to be excused.
- Make up work for credit and grade is allowed for ALL absences. Learn more about Homework/Makeup Work.
Students must arrive at school on time every day.
Students arriving after 8:00 AM will be considered TARDY. If students arrive after 8:05 AM, the student will need to obtain a pass from the front office to be admitted to class.
The dismissal time is 2:40 PM. All students are expected to remain in school for the entire school day. If students are dismissed early, they must be picked up by 2:10 PM. No students will be dismissed 30 minutes prior to the last bell for safety reasons.
Possession of a wireless communication device that disrupts the educational process is a violation. Cellular phones, camera phones, and pagers are prohibited at all times during class unless specifically instructed to do so as part of the lesson.
Code Red Drills
Code Red Drills have been mandated for all schools by the State of Florida to ensure the safety of our students and staff. These Code Red Drills will be implemented on a monthly basis, similar to fire drills. The date of the drill will not be pre-announced due to potential security and attendance issues. Instead, our school will send families Parent Link messages via phone call, text message, and/or e-mail approximately 20 minutes prior to the drill to alert everyone that it is only a drill. Please do not contact your child during the Code Red Drills as it is important for all students to learn the safety procedures in case of an emergency. Our school will then send a second message to families notifying you that the drill is completed.
The dress code rules enforced at our school align directly with the District's Unified School Dress - Policy 5309. Review the District policies outlined on this page for more information.
Parents & Visitors
All visitors including parents must check into the attendance office prior to going to any classrooms or any area on campus. An official photo identification (ID) is required. Acceptable forms of ID include the following:
- Driver’s license
- Florida’s official state identification card
All visitors must park in the designated visitor parking spaces. Please do not park in spaces designated for faculty and staff or in the bus loop.
Students must have a decal to park in the student parking areas.
Please do not leave valuables in your car.
Decals to park in the student lot for the 2021-2022 school year are now available. Parking spots will be reserved and will correspond to the number on the decal. You must meet all of the criteria outlined in the application.
Pick Up/Drop Off
Controlling School Traffic is Essential for Safety
Students should be picked up and dropped off at the car loops only. Parents wishing to park should walk their children to the front gate. For safety reasons, parents are not allowed to walk their children to their classrooms.
Fort Lauderdale High School Student Identification Badges
- All Students must display school-issued ID badges above the waist.
- ID badges must be displayed throughout the entire school day.
- Students are not permitted to deface the school-issued ID badges.
Consequences for not following the procedures
- Students who have his/her ID but are not visibly displaying the badge in the appropriate manner will be sent by the classroom teacher to the ID Lock-out Room, Room 176, for the remainder of the block.
- Teacher should record student in Pinnacle as Unexcused Absent
- Once students arrive in RM. 176, attendance will be taken again and will be recorded as PN in Pinnacle (Present but Not in class/Excused).
- Students who have not brought their ID badge to school will be sent to the ID Lock-out Room, 176, for the day. See ATTENDANCE NOTE above.
- Students who need to replace their ID badge will be given the opportunity to have one made at a replacement cost of $5.00 ($2.50 extra for a lanyard). If the student chooses this option, he/she may return to class after the ID is made.
REPEATED OFFENSES to these procedures are subject to the progressive consequences listed in the Discipline Matrix.
WEARING YOUR ID BADGE IS A SAFETY MEASURE. ALL FACULTY, STAFF, STUDENTS, AND VISITORS ARE EXPECTED TO FOLLOW THE SBBC PROCEDURES FOR SCHOOL SAFETY.
THANK YOU FOR YOUR UNDERSTANDING AND COOPERATION.