Pic of Mr. Gerlach

Principal's Message

  • Dear DBES Families,

    We are so excited to start an amazing 2022-2023 school year with our Deerfield Beach community! I am truly proud of how hard our staff and students worked last school year and I can't wait to build off this amazing foundation.  We have plenty of updates on our webpage so please make sure to look around.  Finally, please see these updates below regarding critical pieces of our school year! We can't wait to "BUILD A GREAT YEAR"!

    Attendance

    We have amazing teachers at DBES who are ready and willing to teach your children! But…..we need them in school! Please remember all students who are absent must have their absence called in to our DBES attendance hotline at 754-322-6102. 

    ***If a child has been out sick three or more days in a row, you will need to provide some form of doctor's note/communication to excuse the absence. Please also understand if you have 10 or more unexcused absences, we will work with our school’s social worker and the BTIP process to assist your family.***

     

    Tardy

    Our academic day begins at 7:55am once our first bell rings.  Your child is officially late at 8 am.  Students who are continuously tardy suffer instructionally because they are rushed and miss critical instruction. 

    For our teachers to do an effective job of teaching our students, we need them through our classroom doors by 8 am.  Please also remember, if you are on a BCPS Reassignment and are regularly tardy, you could jeopardize your reassignment and may have to return to your home school.

     

    Uniforms

    DBES is a uniform school and students are expected to be in uniform daily. School uniforms are mandatory at DBES and students must be in them daily.

    Students can wear any colored polo along with khaki, navy, or black shorts or pants.  Students are allowed to wear spirit shirts on Friday. Students must wear sneakers daily. Students are not permitted to wear ripped jeans, crocs, or sandals/flip flops.

     

    Please see more information on our DBES Uniform policy website page.

     

    Registration

    Kindergarten registration is through the roof so far! If you plan on registering your child, please do so sooner rather than later. This allows us to be fully prepared with enough staff to handle the increased number of students! Our office is open from 7:30 am to 4 pm daily, Monday through Thursday.

     

    Calendar

    We do have many great events and activities already taking shape for the 2022-2023 school year and we don’t want you to miss one! Please save the following dates for your calendar and please bookmark our school calendar for updates:

     

    Tuesday, August16 – First Day of School

    Wednesday, August 24 – DBES Open House (Grades 3, 4, and 5) at 6pm

    Wednesday, August 31 – DBES Open House (Grades K, 1, 2, A-TEAM) at 6pm

    Tuesday, September 6 – Percussion Club Begins (2:15 to 3:30 pm each Tuesday)

    Wednesday, September 7 – Technology Family Night at 6pm

    Tuesday, September 13 – 1st Quarter Interims issued

     

    Monday, October 3 – Heart Challenge Contest Kicks-Off (Coach Lucas)

    Wednesday, October 12 – Ride and Bike to School Day at 7:30 am

    Thursday, October 13 – DBES Literacy Night and Hot Topics at 5:30 pm

    Friday, October 28 – PTA Trunk or Treat at 6pm

     

    Wednesday, November 9 – Family Math Night at 6pm

    Thursday, November 10 – Report Cards Issued

    Thursday, November 17 – Honor Roll Assemblies 8:30 am to 10 am

    Tuesday, November 29 – Interims issued

    Friday, November 18 – Turkey Trot Fundraiser

     

    Tuesday, December 13 – Singing Under the Stars Holiday Show at 6:30 pm

    Friday, December 23 – Jingle Bell Walk Fundraiser

     

    Wednesday, January 18 – ELL Family Night

    Friday, January 20 – PTA Movie Night

     

    Friday, February 3 – Report Cards issued

    Friday, February 10 – Honor Roll Assembly at 8:30 am to 10 am

    Tuesday, February 14 – Interims issued

    Tuesday, February 21 to Friday, February 24 – DBES Field Days

     

    Wednesday, April 5 – Kindergarten Round-Up at 6 pm

    Friday, April 14 – Report Cards issued

    Wednesday, April 19 – Honor Roll Assembly at 8:30 am to 10 am

    Wednesday, April 26 – DBES Spring Art Festival at 4:30 pm

     

    Tuesday, May 2 – Interims issued

    Thursday, May 11 – Kindergarten Round-up at 6pm

    Wednesday, May 31 – Volunteer Appreciation Breakfast

     

    Thursday, June 1 – Primary Grade Level (K-2) Awards Ceremonies at 8:30 am

    Friday, June 2 – 5th Grade Dance – Location/Time TBD

    Monday, June 5 – VPK Moving Up Ceremony at 9 am

    Tuesday, June 6 – Honor Roll Assembly (grades 3 & 4) at 8:45 am to 10:30 am

    Wednesday, June 7 – 5th grade Moving Up Ceremony at 8:45 am