We Care - Know The Rules
The School Board of Broward County, Florida (SBBC) consists of nine elected School Board Members who serve four-year terms. Two of the School Board Members are elected “at large” by all of the electors in Broward County. The other seven School Board Members are elected from seven school board member residence areas. The School Board Members, along with the Superintendent, oversee the sixth-largest District in the nation. The SBBC implements policies that govern ethical, fiduciary, and scholastic mandates, protocols, and procedures for the District's schools, offices, and departments subject to any applicable federal, state, or local laws. The SBBC answers to the residents and taxpayers of Broward County in an ethical, open, and transparent manner.
A school principal may supplement District policies by outlining rules specific to the school such as uniform colors, cell phone usage areas, and drop off/pick up times. However, school rules are limited in scope and do not supersede school district policies.
Anonymous Tip Line
If you need to report something you can do so ANONYMOUSLY! No one will ever be able to know where the report originated. We need you to help keep our schools and our children safe, so if there is something going on that needs to be reported please report it.
The text messaging service, TipSoft, allows a response by text message to the originating cell phone without ever knowing the identity of the individual who left the tip. The user’s information is always given an alias and a unique ID before being sent. This secure application allows the tipster and the investigator to have two-way dialog while always keeping the user’s identity completely anonymous.
The School Board of Broward County encourages students to report information about any non-urgent illegal activity, such as vandalism, theft, the sale, and distribution of drugs or information about crimes that are being planned.
According to SBBC Policy 5.5: All students under 16 are required to attend school every day of the 180-day school year. Absences are established by tardiness, early sign-outs, or absences for all or part of any day. The maximum number of acceptable absences is 5 days. Additionally, please note that students may not be released after 1:45 p.m.
- Parents have 2 days (48 hours) in which to report an absence.
- The Attendance Policy allows eight (8) reasons for absence to be excused.
- Make up work for credit and grade is allowed for ALL absences. Learn more about Homework/Makeup Work.
Students must arrive at school on time every day. The first bell rings at X:XX AM. Students should be in class by the second bell at X:XX AM.
Students arriving after X:XX AM will be considered TARDY. If students arrive after X:XX AM, the student will need to obtain a pass from the front office to be admitted to class.
The dismissal time is X:XX PM. All students are expected to remain in school for the entire school day. If students are dismissed early, they must be picked up by X:XX PM. No students will be dismissed 30 minutes prior to the last bell for safety reasons.
Possession of a wireless communication device that disrupts the educational process is a violation. Cellular phones, camera phones, and pagers are prohibited at all times during class unless specifically instructed to do so as part of the lesson.
Code Red Drills
Code Red Drills have been mandated for all schools by the State of Florida to ensure the safety of our students and staff. These Code Red Drills will be implemented on a monthly basis, similar to fire drills. The date of the drill will not be pre-announced due to potential security and attendance issues. Instead, our school will send families Parent Link messages via phone call, text message, and/or e-mail approximately 20 minutes prior to the drill to alert everyone that it is only a drill. Please do not contact your child during the Code Red Drills as it is important for all students to learn the safety procedures in case of an emergency. Our school will then send a second message to families notifying you that the drill is completed.
Appropriate dress and grooming can help to create a positive learning environment. Other attire may be allowed for special school activities with the approval of the school administration. Possible consequences for violating the dress code are found in the Discipline Matrix. Changes in clothing trends will not override the dress code policy.
Students have a right to wear stylish clothes of their choice as long as those clothes are appropriate for school, are not dangerous to health and safety, and do not create a substantial and material disruption of the school.
Students have a responsibility to dress neatly appropriately, to be clean and well-groomed.
All students are expected to honor their responsibilities and dress in a way that respects the rights of others.
1. Footwear must be worn at all times. For grades K-12, bedroom slippers are not allowed, and for elementary students, backless footwear is not allowed. Additionally, elementary students may not wear backless, sling-backs, or open-toed footwear. Socks may not be worn with backless shoes as a substitute back for backless shoes.
2. Special clothing, including footwear, may be required for safety reasons in certain programs or activities such as physical education, home economics, career/technical education, and science.
3. Revealing clothing or clothing that exposes the torso is not allowed. Examples include, but are not limited to tank tops or spaghetti straps without overblouses (long shirts) or jackets; see-through garments; mini-skirts or mini-dresses; halters; backless dresses; jackets, shirts, or blouses tied at the midriff; and bare midriff outfits.
4. Clothing that is not worn appropriately, is not properly fastened, or has tears that are *indecent will not be permitted. All trousers, including oversized or low-hanging trousers, must be worn and secured at waist level.
5. Garments including, but not limited to, pajamas, boxer shorts, bloomers, and bustiers, which were traditionally designed as undergarments, sleepwear, or beachwear, may not be worn as outer garments. Other clothing not allowed are: leggings without overblouses (long shirts) that reach mid-thigh, tights, bodysuits, or hosiery, including those with lace trim, and bicycle racing attire unless they are worn underneath dresses, skirts, or shorts of appropriate length. Appropriate T-shirts may be worn as outer garments.
6. Clothing that exposes the upper thigh is not allowed. Shorts that are not shorter than mid-thigh, including walking shorts, Bermuda shorts, and split skirts (culottes), are allowed. For Pre-K through 3, shorter shorts may be worn since these are standard attire for these ages.
7. Clothing, jewelry, buttons, haircuts, or other items or markings which are,*suggestive, *revealing, or *indecent, associated with gangs or cults, encourage the use of drugs, alcohol, or violence, or support discrimination on the basis of age, color, disability, ethnicity, gender, linguistic differences, marital status, national origin, race, religion, socioeconomic background, sexual orientation, physical appearance, or on any other basis are not allowed.
8. Head coverings including, but not limited to, caps and hats are not allowed unless they are necessary for safety in programs such as home economics, technology education, vocational education, and athletics or are worn for religious or medical reasons. Bandannas are not allowed. Hats, that do not violate #7 above, are allowed to be worn outdoors for physical education and recess as a safety precaution from sun damage.
9. Curlers and other hair grooming aids are not allowed. Personal grooming including, but not limited to, combing, brushing, and/or spraying hair, and applying cosmetics are allowed only in restrooms and/or designated areas.
10. Sunglasses may not be worn indoors unless a doctor’s authorization is on file. Sunglasses are allowed to be worn outdoors for physical education and recess as a safety precaution from sun damage.
11. Any articles of clothing or jewelry that may cause injury including, but not limited to: items with spikes or sharp objects, wallet chains, and heavy link chains are not allowed.
12. Parents/guardians may request exemptions for their students from participation in the mandatory unified dress program, and shall be informed by the principal, in writing, of the following procedure in this regard:
a. Parents/guardians may request an application for exemption from the current school.
b. An application for exemption must be made annually.
c. The application for exemption must be completed in full and must be submitted to the school principal within the first ten (10) school days of a student’s initial attendance.
d. The school principal (or a designated school administrator) shall communicate with the parents to discuss the unified dress policy and the nature of the request for the exemption. The purpose of this communication shall include:
(1) Ensuring that the parents/guardians understand the unified dress policy and its intent.
(2) Verifying the accuracy of the information on the application for an exemption.
e. The principal’s response in this regard shall be transmitted to the parents/guardians in writing via the Application For Exemption form within ten (10) school days of submission.
The principal may only deny an application if the application is received on or after the 11th school day after enrollment.
13. Violators of the uniform policy (SB Policy 5309) shall be subject to the same penalties as violators of the dress code policy. For further clarification, see the District’s Discipline Matrix that assigns specific consequences and is part of the school’s discipline plan. The Discipline Matrix is available to parents upon request.
*Indecent, suggestive, and revealing refer to exposure of private body parts and/or pictures or words with a sexual connotation.
Parents & Visitors
All visitors including parents must check into the attendance office prior to going to any classrooms or any area on campus. An official photo identification (ID) is required. Acceptable forms of ID include the following:
- Driver’s license
- Florida’s official state identification card
All visitors must park in the designated visitor parking spaces. Please do not park in spaces designated for faculty and staff or in the bus loop.
Students must have a decal to park in the student parking areas.
Please do not leave valuables in your car.
Pick Up/Drop Off
Controlling School Traffic is Essential for Safety
Students should be picked up and dropped off at the car loops only. Parents wishing to park should walk their children to the front gate. For safety reasons, parents are not allowed to walk their children to their classrooms.