• There are various assessments that will be taken at the high school level.

    End of Course Exam (EOC):
    The Florida End of Course (EOC) Assessments are part of Florida’s Next Generation Strategic Plan for the purpose of increasing student achievement and improving college and career readiness. EOC assessments are computer-based, criterion-referenced assessments that measure the Next Generation Sunshine State Standards for specific courses, as outlined in their course descriptions. Currently high school students take EOCs in Algebra, Biology, Geometry and US History. Please see your cohort’s graduation requirements for how these tests will impact your grade or graduation. For more information please visit: http://fcat2.fldoe.org/fcat/.

    FCAT Reading Changes:
    The FCAT 2.0 measures student achievement of the Next Generation Sunshine State Standards in reading. This assessment is in the process of being replaced by another assessment.

    Benchmark Assessment Test (BAT):
    The BAT was designed to mimic the conditions that students experience during FCAT administration. All items included on the BAT were designed to the same specifications as the FCAT items. The goal is to identify students’ areas of strength and weakness and to tailor instruction to each student’s specific needs.

    The Advanced Placement (AP):
    AP courses are college level courses completed at the high school level. At the end of the school year, AP students take a final AP exam in their respective subjects. Students earn college credits for every AP exam they pass. Students also earn two extra quality points on their weighted GPA if they earn a “C” grade or higher. For more information about College Board’s AP program visit: http://apcentral.collegeboard.com/home.

    The Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT):
    The Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) is a program cosponsored by the College Board and National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC). It’s a standardized test that provides firsthand practice for the SAT®. It also gives you a chance to enter NMSC scholarship programs and gain access to college and career planning tools. The PSAT measures critical reading skills, math problem-solving skills and writing skills. Broward Schools administers the PSAT to all 10th grade students. Students wanting to qualify for the National Merit Scholarship must sign-up to take the PSAT again during 11th grade. For more information on the PSAT/NMSQT please visit: (http://www.collegeboard.com/student/testing/psat/about.html).

    Broward Schools Testing Calendar:
    For a complete list of dates of all the assessment offered by Broward Schools, please visit the Student Assessment and Research site: http://www.broward.k12.fl.us/sar/asmntcal.htm.